Image description

The image shows the diagram of all the electromagnetic radiation existing in the Universe, depending on their wavelengths or frequencies.

All types of electromagnetic radiation make up the electromagnetic spectrum and are of two types, with short wavelength, such as gamma rays, X-rays, then ultraviolet rays, visible light and infrared rays, and long-wavelength radiation, respectively radio waves.

Here, the short wavelength rays are marked on the right side, by a curved line with very frequent loops, representing the short frequency of these gamma and X radiations, with an extremely high energy, which makes them deadly for the human life on Earth.

The three types of harmful radiation, gamma, X and UV, are blocked or absorbed by the Earth’s atmosphere, so that life is possible.

The spectrum continues to the left with short wavelength radiation that can penetrate the Earth’s atmosphere, these being ultraviolet, absorbed by the ozone layer above the atmosphere, light in the visible spectrum that is observable from Earth and infrared radiation absorbed by the atmosphere, which is thermal radiation, released by the Sun and all living bodies through the vibration of molecules and can not be seen with the naked eye, but produce heat easily perceived by the human body.

These radiations are rendered in the central and central-left part of the spectrum, through larger and sparser loops.

At the left end, the loops of the spectrum are widen and scattered greatly, representing radiation with wavelengths longer than IR (infrared) light, classified as microwaves and radio waves, being easily detectable from Earth by certain installations fixed on the ground at high altitudes and used in everyday life.

General information



  1. https://www.scienceinschool.org/ro/2011/issue20/em
  2. https://drdeco.ro/beneficiile-radiatiilor-infrarosii/

Download image